Topic: Virtual Machine Version

I tried to install NetSecL OS 4.0 in a virtual machine with Yaste live install. By the time it started to erase partition and proceeded after a confirmation to format the disk and then install the OS it had already produced an error dialog; with each of the steps that I note there was another error failure to complete those steps and I confirmed that I wanted to try to continue despite the errors. I'm new to this virtual machine thing, am I not supposed to actually install it and instead, just suspend and resume whenever I want to deal with it? Wouldn't this mean that virtual machine useage does not allow one to install non-prepackaged software or updates to existing packages? Otherwise, what exactly are the steps to install the OS on a virtual machine after I get it booted into the LiveVM?

Last edited by tau (2012-08-30 03:18:53)

Re: Virtual Machine Version

LiveVM? OK, I think I understood you. In your previous post you said that you already use the virtual machine, you downloaded the ready one from opensuse - and yes you are not supposed to install anything smile. Just use it, suspend it and then run it again whenever you want - it is like a PC but a virtual one smile. You can install packages and uninstall as you wish there is Software management in Yast.